How Many Exams in SSC CGL?

How Many Exams in SSC CGL?

Do you Want to how many exams in SSC CGL? In this article we will explain all about SSC Exam & Number of Exam in SSC CGL.SSC CGL Exam, which stands for Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level Exam, is an exam which is conducted to select candidates for Group B and Group C posts in numerous different top ministries, departments and organisations of Government of India. The SSC CGL Exam has 4 tiers. They are conducted over different days with results posted after each tier. Every tier has a different exam patterns. 

Tier 1: Preliminary Exam

SSC CGL Tier 1 is a qualifying exam meaning based on your results from tier 1, you’ll get to take the tier 2 and tier 3 exams. It is conducted in online mode. The exam is of 1 hour. It consists of a written objective multiple-choice exam with four different sections. Every section is scored with maximum 50 marks making the Tier 1 exam of a total of 200 marks. The subjects covered in each section are:

  • General Awareness
  • General Intelligence and Reasoning 
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • English Comprehension

Tier 2: Mains Exam

SSC CGL Tier 2 is known as the Mains Exam. It is also conducted in online mode. The exam is of 2 hours. The total marks are 200. This exam’s difficulty level is more than tier 1. It is also a written objective multiple choice exam with four different sections. The fours subjects covered in four different sections are:

  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • Statistics 
  • English Language and Comprehension
  • General Studies – This sections is further divided into 2 sections:  Finance and Accounting & Economics and Governance. 

Candidates can choose to take the first two sections only as most positions require the candidate to take only the two papers – Quantitative Aptitude & English Language and Comprehension. But some positions require the candidate to take the third or fourth sections. 

Tier 3: Descriptive Paper

SSC CGL Tier 3 is a “pen-and-paper” type descriptive exam. It is conducted in offline mode. A candidate’s English writing ability, grammar knowledge and creative ability is analysed in this tier. The exam is of 1 hour and the total marks are 100. Candidates can choose from a preferred language from Hindi or English. You’ll need at least 33% in this exam to qualify. Candidates will be asked to write essays, letters, or applications. 

Tier 4: Computer Skills

SSC CGL Tier 4 measures a candidates computer skills which are necessary for various government posts across the country. It was added in 2016.  Tier 4 exam can be applied b candidates who have qualified for the SSC CGL cut-off of tier 1, 2 and 3.  The Tier 4 exam have two sections: 

  • Computer Proficiency Test: This sections covers the topics of word processing, spreadsheets, and making slides. It is conducted for candidates who have applied for the Assistant Section Office Post.
  • Data Entry Speed Test: This section tests candidates’ data entry speed. They have to enter data at the rate of 2000 key presses in 15 minutes. It is conducted for candidates who have applied for Tax assistant posts in central excise and income tax.